SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT prior to 19 November 2014
[as announced 18 May 2007 unless otherwise noted] 
Cabinet Ministers
First Minister : Alex Salmond MSP
Deputy First Minister [from16 May 2007] & Cabinet Secretary for Infrastructure, Investment and Cities [from 5 September 2012]: Nicola Sturgeon MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Health and Well-being [from 5 September 2012]: Alex Neil MSP 
Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Employment [Employment added 19 May 2011]  & Sustainable Growth : John Swinney MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Education & Lifelong Learning [from 1 December 2009] : Fiona Hyslop MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Justice : Kenny MacAskill MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Food [Food added 23 June 2014]  and the Environment : Richard Lochhead MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Culture and External Affairs [from 19 May 2011]: Fiona Hyslop MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Commonwealth Games, Sport, Equalities and Pensioners' Rights [from 12 April 2014]: Shona Robison MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Training, Youth and Female Employment [from 12 April 2014]: Angela Constance MSP
Law Officers
Lord Advocate : Frank Mulholland QC [from 19 May 2011]
Solicitor General : Lesley Thomson QC [from 19 May 2011]
Junior Ministers
Minister for Parliamentary Business [from 5 September 2012]: Joe Fitzpatrick MSP
Minister from Transport and Veterans [from 5 September 2012]: Keith Brown MSP
Minister for Housing and Welfare [from 5 September 2012] : Margaret Burgess MSP
Minister for Public Health [from 20 May 2011]: Michael Matheson MSP
Minister for Energy, Enterprise and Tourism [from 20 May 2011] : Fergus Ewing MSP
Minister for Local Government and Planning [from 8 December 2011]: Derek MacKay MSP
Minister for Children and Young People [from 6 December 2011]: Aileen Campbell MSP
Minister for Learning, Science and Scotland's Languages [from 20 May 2011]: Dr Alasdair Allan MSP
Minister for Community Safety and Legal Affairs [from 20 May 2011]: Roseanna Cunningham MSP
Minister for Environment and and Climate Change [from 5 September 2012]: Paul Wheelhouse MSP
Minister for External Affairs and International Development [from 5 September 2012]: Humza Yousaf MSP
Note- The official name for the Scottish Ministers under The Scotland Act 1998 was the Scottish Executive. It was rebranded as the Scottish Government in September 2007, but the name was not legally changed till 3 July 2012.  
Back to home page  First Ministers  Previous Cabinet Ministers Current Government